Assembly has passed the bills for the conversion of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta to Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology as well as that of the creation of Ogun State Polytechnics at Ipokia.

The bills titled: “HB No. 10/OG/2017- A bill for a law to provide for the Establishment of Moshood Abiola University of Technology and for matters of Administration and Discipline of Students Connected Therewith”.

That of new polytechnics to be cited at Ipokia reads, “HB No. 11/OG/2017- A bill for a law to provide for the Establishment, Incorporation, Constitution and Functions of the Ogun State Polytechnics, Ipokia and for other matters Incidental Thereto or Connected Therewith”.

The passage of the two bills followed the presentation of the reports by the Chairman, House Committee on Education, Science and Technology, Hon. Victor Fasanya, who thereafter moved the motion for its adoption, seconded by Honourables Oyenuga Olufowobi and Olusola Bankole respectively and supported by the Whole House.

The bill seeking the conversion of Moshood Abiola Polytechnics to University had an amendment to its name which now reads “Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology”, in the process, clause- to – clause reading and adoption of the bills was done before the members of the House by Hon. Fasanya, just as the bill seeking the creation of a new Polytechnic underwent same legislative procedure with room for multi-campus system for the institution.

The motions for the third reading of the two bills were moved by the Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe and seconded by the Minority Leader, Olawale Alausa and Adebowale Ojuri respectively after which the Clerk of the House, Engr. Lanre Bisiriyu did the third reading of the bills.

The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Suraju Ishola Adekunbi, who directed that the clean copies of the bills be sent to the Governor for his assent, also called on Hon. Mafe to move the motion for the adoption of the day’s plenary which was seconded by the Hon. Alausa